Aurora Borealis Biography, Discography.

Band "Aurora Borealis" :: read Biography, Discography, Members and more...
Official Sites of Metal Bands - Main Page
Main PageAdd BandLinksFeedback
SearchSite Map
Mus. Access
Bands: Rambler's Top100# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Эта страница на русском
Official site • Status: Active
Report any info about band or about errors.
Style: Black / Death
Year of birth: 1994
Country: USA
Views: 5790. Updated: 26 May, 2005 by Project Moderators

Biography of Band

The concept of Aurora Borealis first originated in 1994 while vocalist/guitarist Ron Vento was playing with the Atlanta based death metal act Lestregus Nosferatus, Ron parted ways with the band because he wanted to pursue a different style and lyrical approach to the music. After endlessly searching for players in Atlanta, Ron ventured to Tampa, Florida. There he found Tony Laureano (Later in AngelCorpse/Nile/Dimmu Borgir) to fill the drum position, and the first MCD “Mansions Of Eternity” was completed in May of 1996. All vocals, bass and guitars were performed by Ron, due to never finding adequate players. The CD was recorded at Morrisound studios and mixed by Scott Burns, and had an excellent reception worldwide.

Upon Completion, Ron relocated to Maryland and started material for the next CD. Being that Tony Laureno was very busy with other projects a new drummer was also sought, and Derek Roddy (Later in Hate Eternal) was found. Derek has played on numerous recordings, most recently of which at that time was Malevolent Creation`s “In Cold Blood”. Bassist Jason Ian-Vaughn Eckert was also added to round out the band and contributed to some of the material. The full length CD debut entitled “Praise the Archaic Lights Embrace” was then recorded at Sound Lab studios during Oct/Nov of 97. Again the band self financed the recording as well as the release of the new disc, due to the fact that all the offers received were not very favorable. The CD again had taken the metal world by storm, and sold out of the first pressing in only a few months.

The Third Installment "Northern Lights" was then later recorded at Nightsky Studios and completed. This also featured Derek on drums while Jason parted ways amicably to pursue other avenues. This release was also self financed by the band. DIE HARD MUSIC, from Denmark, then signed and re-released it with five bonus tracks from the "Praise" album. Two pressings were made by the band and sold out, and one by Die Hard.

After the success of the Northern Lights CD material for the next album was in the works and Ron again was in need of another drummer. Derek`s schedule with Hate Eternal was very hectic and the two could not find the time to record the CD. By coincidence Tim Yeung, (ex-Hate Eternal) was available and agreed to take on the project. The CD entitled "Time, Unveiled" is was completed and proved to be as fast and brutal as all previous efforts. Once again the CD will be released on Nightsky productions in the USA by the band and Die Hard Music in Europe.

Members of Aurora Borealis

Current Members:
Ron Vento (Founder). In Band at: 1994 - . Role: Vocals, Guitar, Bass, Keyboards
Side projects: Lestregus Nosferatus
Tim Yeung (Guest). In Band at: 2000 - . Role: Drums
Side projects: Vital Remains, Agiel, Hate Eternal, Decrepit Birth, Council of the Fallen
Past Members:
Derek Roddy (Guest). Period: 1997 - 2000. Role: Drums
Side projects: Council Of The Fallen, Divine Empire, Hate Eternal, Malevolent Creation, Nile, Internecine, Deboning Method
Jason Ian-Vaughn Eckert (Guest). Period: 1997 - 1998. Role: Bass
Side projects: An Angel`s Shame, As The Sea Parts, Rain Fell Within
Tony Laureano (Guest). Period: 1996 - 1996. Role: Drums
Side projects: Acheron, Angel Corpse, Dimmu Borgir, God Dethroned, Malevolent Creation, Nile


Demo: (none) (1994) Tracklist.
EP: Mansions Of Eternity (1996) Tracklist.
Lineup: Ron Vento, Tony Laureano
CD: Praise The Archaic Lights Embrace (1998) Studio: Nightsky Productions. Tracklist.
Lineup: Ron Vento, Derek Roddy, Jason Ian-Vaughn Eckert
CD: Northern Lights (2000) Tracklist.
Lineup: Ron Vento, Derek Roddy
CD: Time, Unveiled (2002) Studio: Nightsky Productions. Tracklist.
Lineup: Ron Vento, Tim Yeung
Split: Checkpoint # 4 (2003) Tracklist.
Comment: Track 1 - by Koldborn
Track 2 - by Gurd
Track 3 - by 2 Ton Predator
Track 4 - by Aurora Borealis
Track 5 - by Thorium

Increase your sexual perfomance with Male Extra! Read Male Extra review on AAFS.

Рейтинг.ru Rambler's Top100 © Metal Land, 2003-2016
Design & programming: Morgul