Ensiferum Biography, Discography.

Band "Ensiferum" :: read Biography, Discography, Members and more...
Official Sites of Metal Bands - Main Page
Main PageAdd BandLinksFeedback
SearchSite Map
Mus. Access
Bands: Rambler's Top100# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Эта страница на русском
Official site • Status: Active
Report any info about band or about errors.
Style: Heroic-Folk-Metal
Year of birth: 1995
Country: Finland
Views: 4142. Updated: 01 December, 2004 by Project Moderators

Biography of Band

Melodically inspired Death Metal band ENSIFERUM started life in 1995, founded by the trio of DARK REFLECTIONS man Markus Toivonen on guitar, Sauli Savolainen on bass and DARK REFLECTIONS drummer Kimmo Miettinen. This trio commenced rehearsals during January of 1996 at the Pasila Youthcenter in Helsinki. At the close of 1996 they were joined by Jari M?enp?? of IMMEMORIAL on guitar and vocals. ENSIFERUM put on an inaugural concert of sorts at their rehearsal rooms in December of that year. The gig comprised of just one song entitled 'Old Man'. However, M?enp??'s national service army duties stalled band progress for a while.

ENSIFERUM cut a debut three song demo, recorded at Kivi-Studios in November of 1997. The following year Jukka-Pekka Miettinen stepped in as the new bass player and Oliver Fokin from ARTHEMESIA filled the drummer's role. Ironically Miettinen moved on to join ARTHEMESIA.

1999 witnessed two demo tapes, the latter of which was produced by Janne Joutsenniemi of SUB-URBAN TRIBE.This session secured a deal with the Spinefarm label for the debut 2001 album, recorded by Tuomo Valtonen in November 2000 at Sundi-Coop Studios in Savonlinna. Studio guests included FINNTROLL and BARATHRUM man Trollhorn on keyboards, Johanna Vakkuri with female vocals and Marita Toivonen on kantele.

The band incorporated a fifth member, keyboard player Meiju Enho, upon completion of these sessions.

During 2001 Kimmo Miettinen enrolled into CADACROSS. He would soon be joined by Jukka-Pekka Miettinen, both maintaining their membership of ENSIFERUM. Upon completion of the Flemming Rasmussen produced 'Iron' album, recorded at Sweet Silence studios in Copenhagen, Denmark, ENSIFERUM severed ties with frontman Jari M?enp?? in January of 2004, the singer prioritising his side project WINTERSUN. Nevertheless, the band partnered with FINNTROLL for an extensive European tour in April, pulling in NORTHER's Petri Lindroos as session guitarist/vocalist. That same year Spinefarm Records included an exclusive ENSIFERUM track 'Tale Of Revenge' to their compilation album 'Spinetingler III'.

ENSIFERUM issued the single 'Tale Of Revenge', the B side of which included a cover version of METALLICA's 'Battery', as a taster for their new album 'Iron'. The record was recorded during the Summer of 2003 at Sweet Silence studios in Copenhagen, Denmark with producer Flemming Rasmussen. In October of 2004 NORTHER's Petri Lindroos was announced as being a permanent member of the band, replacing Jari M?enp??.

Members of Ensiferum

Current Members:
Markus Toivonen. Role: Guitar & Percussion
Jukka-Pekka Miettinen. Role: Bass
Meiju Enho. Role: Keyboards
Oliver Fokin. Role: Drums & Percussion
Petri Lindroos. Role: Vocals & Guitars
Past Members:
Kimmo Miettinen. Role: Drums
Sauli Savolainen. Role: Bass
Jari M?enp??. Role: Vocals & Guitars


Demo: Demo 1 (1997) Studio: Self-Produced. Tracklist.
Demo: Demo 2 (1999) Studio: Self-Released. Tracklist.
Demo: Hero in a Dream (1999) Tracklist.
CD: Ensiferum (2001) Studio: Spinefarm Records. Tracklist.
Single: Tale of Revenge (2004) Studio: Spinefarm Records. Tracklist.
CD: Iron (2004) Studio: Spinefarm Records. Tracklist.
Lineup: Jari Maenpaa: vocals + guitar; Markus Toivonen: guitar; Jukka-Pekka Miettinen: bass; Oliver Fokin: drums + percussions; Meiju Enho: keyboards

Increase your sexual perfomance with Male Extra! Read Male Extra review on AAFS.

Рейтинг.ru Rambler's Top100 © Metal Land, 2003-2016
Design & programming: Morgul